Articles, Blog

Triple play or just crazy youth baseball? You decide.

Triple play or just crazy youth baseball? You decide.


Was it a triple play or was it just some crazy
youth baseball that happens. You decide, coming up next The situation is bases loaded with no outs. We’ll show the play in real time which takes
only about ten seconds, but a lot is going on. Here it is…and excuse the poor videography. We’ll watch it again in slow motion which
makes this much simpler to track. With bases loaded and no outs there is a possible
infield fly. For the sake of our video we’re assuming
that was called. This means the batter runner is out regardless. Then we see the runner on second, R2, is caught
between bases and may have interfered with the short stops ability to catch the ball. R2 proceeds to 3rd and our fielder makes a
great grab after the ball lands and immediately wants to throw to 3rd base, but seeing his
3rd baseman is out of position, then looks to 1st base and sees R1, who believes he is
forced to advance to 2nd and throws the ball to 2nd base. But, since there was an infield fly called,
R1 is not forced and must be tagged for the out which is the last thing we see. In ten seconds, the plate umpire, who is the
only umpire at the game, must make several critical decisions in real time. #1) Do we have in infield fly? We do and that was pretty simple. #2) Did the runner from 2nd interfere with
the shortstop’s ability to catch the ball. This one is a judgement call and while it’s
easier to see in slow motion, not so easy to see in actual time from behind the plate. If it is interference, then that runner is
out. #3) Does our possible 3rd out on the runner
from 1st base count as an out and if so, did the runner on 3rd score before that last out
is made? What is your call? Put your thoughts in the comments. Now let’s walk through it one item at a
time. #1) an infield fly is technically a judgement
call here, but that one is pretty cut and dry in this clip, so we’ll accept that the
batter runner is out. That is out #1. #2) You have to choose if R2 interfered or
not with the short stop. Here is a clue. The runner does NOT have to make contact with
the fielder in order to interfere. All he has to do is, in your judgement, interfere
with a fielder’s ability to make a play on the ball. #3) IF you choose to not call interference,
then R2 is not out and is safe at 3rd base and the ball still live, R1 is …. Well,
he is not out on the force, but when he is tagged, that out would be out #2 and the runner
from 3rd would score. #3) If you DO choose to call interference
on R2, then something very important happens. R2 is out for out #2, but the play is now
dead. Time is called and no runner may advance or
be put out. Therefore, in this situation, R3 has to go
back to 3rd base and his run therefore does not score. R1 must return to 1st base and his out is
not recorded because time is called prior to the tag. So now we should have 2 outs with a runner
on 1st and 3rd. In essence, the umpire’s decision on the
interference or non/interference call changes how the play ends up. As an umpire, you do not have to rule on interference
like this immediately. It is something that can be applied in retrospect,
especially with multiple umpires. Because an interference call kills the play
at that point, calling it after the normal course of play ends allows the umpire to take
time to consider and discuss the call with his partner. If interference is the call, you simply roll
back the play to that point. If interference is obvious, then of course
make the call right away. In this game the interference was called retroactively
and both team managers agreed that interference was the correct call. It’s always nice to umpire with two teams
that care more about getting it right than getting it their way. Let us know in the comments what you think. And would YOU have been able to keep this
all straight as the lone umpire in the game?

6 comments

My biggest frustration with umpires is not a tight zone or wondering zone, it is not calling an infield fly immediately. If the ump had done this, then there would be no discussion about R1. The interference call would still be up for debate, but at least it wouldn't be confusing. Maybe the ump did call it and we just didn't hear it on the video. But that's another gripe, they need to yell it so all know that the batter is out.

It's hard for me to comment on this because we do not know when and if the ump called a infield fly. IMO, if they called interference, the play would be dead and the runner on first would not be out so once again, it depends on if he called an infield fly to determine how many outs

Let's assume the IFF is in effect and the interference is called. In this case, you have the BR out on IFF, and R2 out for interference. Interference is an immediate dead ball situation, however. Therefore, no other plays can be made after that and no runners may advance since the infraction occurred on a batted ball. R1 and R3 must return to first and third base, respectively.

Obviously can't be a triple play, because there's no way both R1 and R2 can be out. If R2 is out, the play is dead.
I'm giving the benefit of the doubt to R2 absent a better angle. So no INT. (BR out, R1 out, R2 safe, R3 scores.)

I see no interference nor IFF- the ball was not a high pop up with the runner camped under the ball and the fielder was obviously not purposely dropping the ball to turn the DP he actually misplays the soft pop up initially reading it late making the play on what became a ground ball. You can’t call a misplay and running in on the ball an infield fly. The runner had no bearing on the play the SS did not pull up flinch or have any issue with the one bounce now ground ball. Fielders choice OUT AT 2B. Runner scores -That’s it. Love your videos though.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *